T&P 1A. White Balance

Today we’ve been practicing using white balance (WB) settings. Here are different results I’ve got shooting some of my belongings with auto, daylight, shade, cloudy, tungsten light, fluorescent light, flash and custom WB set in two ways – using white and gray cards. I should note that the photos were taken under fluorescent lamps.

As can be seen, flash, daylight, cloudy and shade settings add a lot of warm tones to the images as all these types of light are naturally colder than fluorescent light. Meanwhile setting WB into tungsten light adds cold tones to it because that kind of illumination is warmer than fluorescent light.

Both auto and fluorescent settings worked quite good  for me, however I prefer photos that I’ve made with custom settings, especially the last one – using a gray card. It looks the closest to my perception of the original.

Leave a Reply

