Venetian blinds Lighting Effect Tests

Recently I was watching a movie and there was a scene where a person was lit by stripes of light as if there was a window with venetian blinds. I was curious how was the effect achieved and decided to research it: http://filmmakeriq.com/lessons/the-basics-of-lighting-for-film-noir/

Two or three days later one of make-up artists that I worked with before asked me if I know how  to create shadow line effect and we agreed for a test, I asked her to bring blinds to the studio. Here’s an example of the effect: http://www.solvesundsbo.com/work/pointsalaligne

Test 1: wide beige fabric blinds

I didn’t mention that we need venetian blinds, so she brought what she had – wide beige fabric blinds, I definitely need to be more specific. The blinds didn’t really work – beige fabric didn’t cast deep shadows and lines of the fabric were too wide to create more than 1 shadow on the face.

blindsweb

Test 2: black grid, each line about 2.5 inches wide

Next time the artist made a big frame with wide lines of black duck tape.

a) using softbox

I did understand it won’t work, because the light will be diffused in different dirrections, but there was a softbox on the light, so I decided to give it a try before I change it. Just in case I was wrong.

2-softbox-web

b) using hard light (bowl reflector)

worked well, but the lines are still too wide

5-hard-light-web

Test 3: speedlight through venetian blinds

Got venetian blinds from a friend, decided to test at home first. Works better, but I want to do more tests in the studio to see if the shadows can be any sharper and if additional light sources can be used.

half-way-closed-blinds-web

So next time I’m going to test venetian blinds + honeycomb light modifier to make light more direct + I’ll try out additional light from behind and maybe from other front side.

I’m usually arranging a scene for my narrative portraits, playing around with a person’s environment to make a photograph readable. I consider this lightning technique one of the tools to approach it, to alter the environment and to tell a story.

Leave a Reply

