Software Comparison: Noise Reduction

There are times when I need to work in a quite dark environment and not always flash can be used because of various reasons (this time it was potential interference, but sometimes I have to avoid using speedlight for safety reasons because some people have photosensitive epilepsy). It results in necessity to use high ISO which produces noise in the image. So I decided to compare different software to find out which copes with noise better.

I think that Lightroom works better than Capture One and Camera Row in this case, so I would use it if I need to reduce noise in many photographs quickly. But if I had more time to retouch a photograph, I would use Photoshop because it gives possibility to apply noise reduction as a layer/mask, to use it for chosen areas only and to control its opacity quickly and easily.

(Outcome 4)

Leave a Reply

